Remolino, Alcoseba sine in Sunrise Sprint race
February 12, 2024 | 3:08pm
Remolino, Alcoseba sine in Sunrise Sprint race
Triathlon stock photo
via Dreamstime

CAMARINES SUR – Kim Remolino and Faith Alcoseba lived up to pre-race hype but achieved victories in distinct styles in the Go for Gold Sunrise Sprint at the CamSur Watersports Complex here Sunday.

Remolino edged Matthew Hermosa and Renz Corbin in a thrilling finish, posting a 01:04:33 clocking to rule the men’s division of the sub-category event to the 5150 CamSur covering 750m swim, 20km bike and 5km run distance. Hermosa and Corbin turned in identical times of 01:04:49.

Alcoseba, on the other hand, dominated from start to finish, claiming the top spot in the women’s side in 01:08:52. Heart Quiambao placed a distant second in 01:14:09, while Nicole del Rosario came in third in 01:14:38.

Remolino and Alcoseba, both representing Team Go for Gold Cebu, flashed their exceptional form and rigorous training, previously excelling in a short-distance triathlon series as they shared top honors with 5150 CamSur overall winners Kim Mangrobang and Edward Macalalad.

Remolino also took the 20-24 age group title while Hermosa secured victory in the 15-19 division of the event organized by The IRONMAN Group/Sunrise Events, Inc., which also marked the triathlon’s return to its original race destination.

Other winners in the men’s categories included Mark Novallasca (25-29), Bryan Tan (30-34), Saidamen Manabilang (35-39), Dennis Llagas (40-44), Emilio Corral (50-54) and William Menes (55-59).

Alcoseba also claimed the women’s 20-24 trophy, Raizzen Azada took the 15-19 crown, Regina Rosquites topped the 30-34 class, and Liza Jane Reyes ruled the 45-49 category.

TLTG Go for Gold, comprised of Alcoseba, Corbin, John Lalimos, Johnwayne Ybañez and Fidel Redillas, nailed the best team award with a combined time of 5:41:56.66, while Remolino and Hermosa’s Team Go for Gold, which also included Carron Cañas, Randle Belleza and Jeremy Go, clocked 6:07:09.20 for second.

Meantime, Team CamSur Triteam topped the all-male relay event with a time of 2:06:18, besting Team TDSC, which timed 2:12:12, while Team Hawhaw 2.0 placed third in 3:43:01.

Team Trilungs, on the other hand, ruled the all-female relay side in 3:28:10, edging Team Adreality and TDDNG Tri, which submitted 3:30:50 and 3:34:09 clocking, respectively, while CamSur Triteam 2 bagged the mixed team relay trophy in 2:11:58, beating Team The Next Step Tri and Tri Team 300, which timed 2:22:06 and 2:56:09, respectively.

Meanwhile, CamSur Triteam, made up of Mark Hosana, Renel Brecenio, John Bufete, Mariano Basagre, Jr. and Anne Nuñez, emerged the best team in the 5150 CamSur, pooling a combined time of 12:07:39.14. The Next Step Tri, composed of Irienold Reig, Jr., Aldenreed Mercado, Mangrobang, Daniel Brown and Ana Locsin, assembled a total clocking of 12:38:31.57 for second while the Trimac squad of Crisanto Gabriel, Jr., Nino Mundo, Gerald Violago, Sarah Jervoso and Neil Delarmente, finished third with 15:04:21.75.

Ever looked for a filipino restaurant in the US? Miss the taste of home? Don't just wait for a filipino restaurant to pop up, order your favorite pinoy food right here! has all the hottest filipino food items at the best prices. We ship them directly to you to keep your pantry stocked and your taste buds happy.